TL;DR: Capitol University publishes eight colleges plus a Graduate School, a Senior High School, a basic education unit and an ETEEAP route. The list is narrower than its size suggests — two engineering degrees, two maritime degrees, two health science degrees — but most of what it does offer ends at a PRC licensure exam, and CU publishes PACUCOA accreditation levels programme by programme rather than hiding behind one badge. The website's weak spot is currency: the senior high page still advertises A.Y. 2021-2022.
This is drawn from Capitol University's own college pages in Cagayan de Oro. Where CU publishes a programme description, accreditation level or CHED memorandum reference, it is quoted here. Where it publishes nothing, that is stated.
The eight colleges
CU's academics menu lists these, and each has its own page with a Programs Offered section:
| College | Degrees published | PACUCOA level shown |
|---|---|---|
| Arts and Sciences | 2 | Level IV |
| Business and Accountancy | 3 | Level IV |
| Computer Studies | 2 | not stated |
| Criminology | 1 | Level II re-accreditation |
| Education | 4 (plus BSEd majors) | not stated on the page |
| Engineering | 2 | Level III (Civil), Level IV (Mechanical) |
| Maritime Education | 2 | Level III re-accreditation, both |
| Health Sciences | 2 | Level IV |
That is roughly eighteen undergraduate programmes, before counting BSEd majors separately. For a university with a medical centre attached and CHED autonomous status, it is a focused list rather than a sprawling one.
Business and accountancy: three degrees, three destinations
The College of Business and Accountancy is the clearest-written section on CU's site, because it names the CHED memorandum each programme complies with and says what the qualification opens up.
- BS Accountancy (BSA) — four years, compliant with CMO 27 s.2017 and the International Federation of Accountants' education standards. CU states the point directly: it qualifies graduates to sit for certification given by the PRC Board of Accountancy.
- BS Management Accounting (BSMA) — four years, compliant with CMO 28 s.2017, aimed at the Certified Management Accountant examination rather than the CPA board. These are different qualifications and the CMA is not a PRC licence. Choose deliberately.
- BS Business Administration (BSBA) — four years, compliant with CMO 17 s.2017, covering finance, human resources and marketing. No board exam attaches to it.
The college also lists membership in PACSB, PCDEB and the regional COBEDAPH council. If you are weighing the CPA route, our BS Accountancy guide covers what the degree demands nationally.
Criminology: one degree, a national ranking
One programme — BS Criminology — with PACUCOA Level II re-accreditation and membership in the Professional Criminologist Association of the Philippines. The faculty list is unusually informative: nearly every full-time member is a Registered Criminologist, and several hold a Master of Science in Criminal Justice.
CU has publicised results that back this up, including a top-two national placing among schools in a recent PRC criminologist licensure examination and a separate release naming its August 2025 passers. Board results move every cycle, so treat any single ranking as a snapshot; our board exam passing rates by course explains how to read them.
Engineering: two programmes, four civil specialisations
CU publishes BS Civil Engineering and BS Mechanical Engineering, both restructured as four-year programmes.
Civil Engineering carries four core specialisations: structural, transportation, geotechnical, and construction engineering and management, with CU describing a community extension focus on climate adaptation and disaster resilience. Mechanical Engineering is written to feed into operations, maintenance, production, entrepreneurship and R&D, with CU noting adjacent fields — manufacturing, aeronautical, environmental, biomedical, mechatronics and robotics — that graduates move into.
Both lead to PRC engineering board exams. What CU does not offer is electrical, electronics, industrial, chemical or computer engineering. If those are your target, this is the wrong shortlist entry.
Maritime education: the three-plus-one structure
The College of Maritime Education runs two departments, Marine Transportation and Marine Engineering, both established in 1974.
BS Marine Transportation (BSMT) is explicitly a three years academic plus one year shipboard training structure. CU spells out the part prospective cadets underestimate: the one-year shipboard phase must be on a commercial vessel of not less than 500 gross tons, must be enrolled, supervised and assessed, and without it the cadet cannot graduate. It also warns that continuity from the academic phase into shipboard training depends on passing the qualifying examinations that shipping and manning companies set for their cadetship programmes. In other words, the school controls the classroom half; the industry controls the other half.
BS Marine Engineering (BSMarE) follows the same onboard-training logic, aimed at certification as Officer in Charge of an Engineering Watch under STCW Regulation III/1, while BSMT targets Officer in Charge of a Navigational Watch under Regulation II/1.
The college publishes CHED-MARINA and DNV recognition alongside PACUCOA Level III re-accreditation for both degrees. For the wider picture, see our maritime courses guide.
Health sciences: nursing and medical technology
The College of Health Sciences publishes two programmes:
- BS Nursing with Certificate in Medical Transcription — the transcription certificate bundled into the nursing degree is unusual and worth asking about, since it is an employability add-on rather than part of the standard CHED nursing curriculum.
- BS Medical Technology
Both sit under PACUCOA Level IV accreditation, and CU has publicised recognition from the PRC and the Professional Regulatory Board of Nursing for placing among the top schools nationally in a nurse licensure examination. Capitol University Medical Center gives the college an attached clinical training site, which is a practical advantage worth weighing against schools that rent placements. If you are deciding between the two degrees, our nursing versus medtech comparison sets out the difference.
Education: four undergraduate degrees plus majors
The College of Education was named a CHED Center of Excellence for Teacher Education for SY 2010-2013 — CU says on its own page that it is the only college in the university to have received that recognition. Note the date; that designation cycle has long expired, and CU does not publish a current one.
Published programmes:
- Bachelor of Early Childhood Education (BECEd) — four years, aligned to the National Early Learning Framework and the first key stage (K to 3), preparing practitioners for children aged 0 to 8.
- Bachelor of Elementary Education (BEEd)
- Bachelor of Physical Education (BPEd) — four years, and CU is clear that its graduates are PE teachers, dance and sports club moderators, and school sports programme coordinators.
- Bachelor of Secondary Education (BSEd) with majors in English, Filipino, Mathematics and Social Studies.
All four lead to the Licensure Examination for Teachers. Nothing on CU's page suggests a Special Needs Education or MAPEH major is currently offered, despite MAPEH appearing throughout the faculty credentials.
Arts and sciences, and computer studies: smaller than expected
Arts and Sciences publishes exactly two degrees: AB Literature (Track A: Literature and Cultural Studies, per CMO 21 s.2017) and AB English Language Studies (Track 1: English across the Professions, per CMO 24 s.2017). No psychology, no biology, no political science. The college nevertheless carries PACUCOA Level IV.
Computer Studies publishes BS Information Technology and Associate in Computer Technology. The BSIT page lists twelve entry-level roles graduates may qualify for, from applications developer to network engineer. There is no BS Computer Science and no BS Information Systems on the list, and the ACT description on the page is empty.
Graduate school and ETEEAP
The Graduate School page describes the unit's vision and faculty but leaves its Programs Offered section blank. The faculty credentials point at doctoral work in educational management and business management, but CU does not name the degrees it confers. That is a genuine gap — ask the Graduate School directly.
ETEEAP is better documented. CU is a deputised institution for the Expanded Tertiary Education Equivalency and Accreditation Program, which awards a degree based on assessed work experience. Eligibility, as CU states it: Filipino, at least a high school graduate, at least five years of work in the relevant field, with proof of proficiency. Programmes available through this route are BSBA (financial, human resource or marketing management), BSEd (English, Filipino, Mathematics, Social Studies), BEEd, AB English Language Studies and BS Civil Engineering.
What the website leaves unresolved
- No tuition figures anywhere on cu.edu.ph. The Cashier and Admissions pages describe services, not rates.
- No published entrance exam for college. The Admissions and Career Development Center describes evaluation and admission processing, but names no test.
- The senior high page is stale. It still says "for the A.Y. 2021 – 2022, Classes Start on August 31, 2021" and advertises "NO ENTRANCE EXAMINATION AND NO DOWN PAYMENT". Both may still be true; neither is confirmed by a current page.
- Graduate School programmes are unlisted.
Compare CU against other options on our Cagayan de Oro schools page, or read the Capitol University directory record for contact details and location.
Sources
- Capitol University — Colleges index and the college pages for Arts and Sciences, Business and Accountancy, Computer Studies, Criminology, Education, Engineering, Maritime Education and Nursing (cu.edu.ph)
- Capitol University — Graduate School, ETEEAP, Senior High School and Admission pages (cu.edu.ph)
- Capitol University — news releases on PRC criminology and nursing licensure results (cu.edu.ph)

